Three New Members Named to National Council on Disability

President Obama has appointed three new members to the National Council on Disability (NCD).

New NCD members are Jeff Rosen, chairperson, Capt. Jonathan F. Kuniholm, Lynnae Ruttledge and Alice Wong.

The new members join Janice Lehrer-Stein, Chester Finn (reappointed), Gary Blumenthal, Sara Gelser, Matan Koch, Ari Ne'eman, Kamilah Oni Martin-Proctor, Stephanie Orlando, Clyde Terry, Dr. Fernando M. Torres-Gil and Pamela Young-Holmes, who were previously appointed by the president.

Rosen previously served as the general counsel and director of policy of the agency. During his previous seven-year tenure at NCD, Rosen led the agency's Righting the ADA project, which served as the foundation for the ADA Amendments Act of 2008.

Kuniholm is the president and founder of the Open Prosthetics Project and the founder of StumpworX, Inc., a prosthetic arm manufacturing company. He served in the Marine Corps from 1997 to 2006 as a combat engineer officer and platoon commander for the 1st Marine Division in Operation Iraqi Freedom II.

Ruttledge is a disability policy advisor to an Irish-based international research institute, DOCTRID (Daughters of Charity, Technology Research Into Disability). She served as commissioner of the Rehabilitation Services Administration with the U.S. Department of Education from 2010 to 2012.

Wong is a staff research associate for the National Center for Personal Assistance Services at the University of California, San Francisco, which conducts research and training on personal care programs that serve people with disabilities. She is president of the San Francisco In-Home Supportive Services Public Authority Governing Body and a board member of Asians and Pacific Islanders with Disabilities of California.