2012 U.S. Paralympic Wheelchair Rugby Team Named

Para rugby game

Will Groulx, shown during the gold medal game of the Beijing 2008 Paralympic Games, will compete as part of the U.S. Paralympic Wheelchair Rugby Team at the London 2012 Paralympic Games. Photo courtesy of U.S. Paralympics

The wait is over. Members of the 2012 U.S. Paralympic Wheelchair Rugby Team have been selected.

“The team we selected, from top to bottom is a great example of the very best the United States has to offer,” said head coach James Gumbert. “Our expectations are to play to the highest level of rugby possible. The U.S. has a high standard, and it’s this team’s desire to improve and play above the standards set before us.”

Twelve players and three alternates will compete in the 2012 Paralympic Games. The U.S. team will defend its title as the world and Paralympic champion in wheelchair rugby.

The members are

  • Travis Anderson – Tucson, Ariz. (alternate)
  • Chuck Aoki – Tucson, Ariz.
  • Andy Cohn – Coronado, Calif.
  • Chad Cohn – Tucson, Ariz.
  • Joe Delagrave – Chandler, Ariz.
  • Will Groulx – Portland, Ore.
  • Derrick Helton – Tucson, Ariz.
  • Scott Hogsett – Tempe, Ariz.
  • Seth McBride – Portland, Ore.
  • Delvin McMillian – Maylene, Ala. (alternate)
  • Jason Regier – Centennial, Colo.
  • Adam Scaturro – Lakewood, Colo.
  • Nick Springer – Phoenix
  • Chance Summer – Denver
  • Josh Wheeler – Provo, Utah (alternate)

The 2012 Paralympic Games being Aug. 29 in London.