USA Power Soccer World Cup Team Announced

The power wheelchair soccer team that will represent the United States at the Federation Internationale de Powerchair Football Association (FIPFA) has been selected.

In October, the United States Power Soccer Association (USPSA) invited 20 of the top players in the country to its national tryouts in Indianapolis.

Those players underwent three 12-hour days of "intense evaluation and drills," according to a USPSA announcement sent by USPSA President Dominic Russo.

Coach Mike Hayes, who heads the 2015 national team, said of the tryouts, "The 12 athletes that will be representing the USA in the next World Cup have been selected. Although this step is over, the journey has just begun for these athletes. Over the next year these players will have weekly drills to help sharpen their skills along with five or six training camps. During this journey these players will learn and execute a new version of how the USA will play power soccer in the World Cup and beyond. I am honored to be leading this group, but without my outstanding coaching staff none of this would be possible. We all are looking forward to representing the USPSA with honor, sportsmanship and dignity while bringing home our third consecutive World Cup title."

Players named to the national team are Michael Archer, Case Calvert, Ben Carpenter, Andrew Cunningham, Jordan Dickey, Katie Dickey, Riley Johnson, Nathan Mayer, JC Russo, Natalie Russo, Peyton Sefick and Pete Winslow.

The World Cup's location and dates were still to be announced at press time.

About the Author

Laurie Watanabe is the editor of Mobility Management. She can be reached at